24-Time NSSA Winner Fischer Inducted Into Indiana Broadcast Pioneer Hall of Fame

Don Fischer

(Ivan Bowyer Photo)

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – The “Voice of the Hoosiers” Don Fischer was one of eight inductees into the Indiana Broadcast Pioneers Richard M. Fairbanks Hall of Fame on Thursday. He was inducted at an awards banquet and induction ceremony at the Indianapolis Marriott North, Keystone at the Crossing.

Fischer was joined by David Bailey, Howdy Bell, Dick Lingle, Don Tillman and Lew Wood. Wanda Ramey and Elizabeth Turnell also were inducted posthumously that evening.

Following a reception and dinner, the induction ceremonies featured a video of each honoree’s career. These videos will now be added to the Indiana Broadcast Pioneers Hall of Fame display housed at the Indiana State Museum.

Don Fischer has been the “Radio Voice” of Indiana University football and basketball games for 37 years. He has done the play-by-play for over 1500 games, including three NCAA basketball championships and eight bowl games. He hosts the weekly Coaches show for both football and basketball and a daily radio show, “IU Sports Today,” which is syndicated throughout the state. He has anchored the Indianapolis Colts pre-season telecasts for the past 15 years. He has been named Indiana Sportscaster of the Year 24 times by The National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association and The Indiana Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association, with the ISSA inducting him into its Hall of Fame in 2004.


Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email