53rd NSSA Awards Banquet Draws 400

NSSA Hall of Famers John Feinstein (left) and Bob Costas (2nd from right), with national winners Dan Shulman (2nd from left) and Joe Posnanski (right), at 53rd Annual NSSA Awards Banquet

The 53rd Annual NSSA Awards Banquet grew in attendance for the third straight year, with 400 people attending at Catawba College’s Goodman Gym in Salisbury, NC on June 11th.  Bob Costas of NBC Sports and MLB Network, and author John Feinstein were inducted into the NSSA Hall of Fame.

Dan Shulman (ESPN) accepted his 2011 National Sportscaster of the Year Award, while Joe Posnanski brought the house down while accepting the 2011 National Sportswriter of the Year Award.  Posnanski’s book on the late Joe Paterno will be released in August.

103 state sportscasters and sportswriter of the year were also honored, as were Big House Gaines college basketball coach of the year award winners Anthony Evans (Norfolk State, Div. 1) and Jacques Curtis (Shaw University, Div. 2), and Jim Nantz college sportscaster of the year award winner Bill Spaulding (Syracuse).

The entire Awards Weekend drew more than 525 people to Salisbury.  On June 9th, after a welcome reception and dinner, NSSA sponsored Coaches and Media Relationships issues forum.  Former college basketball coach Tom Penders was one of the panelists, along wwith Paul Keels (Ohio State play-by-play), Chris Dufresne (LA Times), Steve Shutt (Wake Forest media relations).  Wes Durham (Atlanta Falcons and Georgia Tech play-by-play) served as moderator.

NSSA Hall of Fame inductee Bob Costas speaks at 53rd Annual NSSA Awards Banquet, Salisbury, NC

The  next day, the National Athletic Trainers’ Association sponsored an awards brunch and seminars.  Fox Charlotte’s Morgan Fogarty won the sports medicine reporting award.  Oklahoma’s Scott Anderson (exertional sickling) and John Almquist of Fairfax Co, Virginina (emergency action plans) presented seminars.  Then it was off to Literary Bookpost in downtown Salisbury for the first NSSA Book Signing.  Authors Leigh Montville, Dave Ungrady, Craig Greenlee, Mark Johnson, Andrew Derr, Bob Harris, Herb Appenzeller and Doug Segrest autographed their books.  Jostens provided a display of their 28 Super Bowl championship rings.  The day was capped by a BBQ dinner and dance at the historic Salisbury Station train depot.  Music was provided by the Salisbury Swing Band.

Before the Awards Banquet on Monday, visitors participated in the NSSA Golf Tournament, went on a tour of historic downtown Salisbury that included a luncheon and shopping, or rested up for the big night.  Frito-Lay sponsored a VIP reception at Catawba College’s Cloninger Guest House.  And then, the main reception and silent auction were held in the Goodman Gym lobby.

NSSA Hall of Fame inductee John Feinstein speaks at 53rd Annual NSSA Awards Banquet, Salisbury, NC

Dick Ebersol (Costas), David Maraniss (Feinstein), Allan Davis (Shulman) and Mike Vaccaro (Posnanski) served as presenters for the Hall of fame and national winners.  STAA CEO Jon Chelesnik presented Spaulding’s award, and NSSA executive director Dave Goren presented Curtis with the Gaines Award.

Other guests included Dick Vitale, Jay Bilas, Terry Francona and Orel Hershiser from ESPN.  Joining Ebersol were NBC Sports president Mark Lazarus, former NBC Sports president Ken Schanzer, former NBCUniversal president and CEO Jeff Zucker, former HBO Sports president Ross Greenberg, IMG’s Sandy Montag and others.

A DVD of the Awards Banquet will be available soon from nssafame.com.

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email