Archive | News RSS feed for this section

Welcome to the news archive.

KU’s Davis to Call It Quits After Basketball Season

13-time NSSA Kansas Sportscaster of the Year Bob Davis, the 31-year Voice of the University of Kansas Jayhawks, has announced that he will retire after the 2015-2016 basketball season. Davis won his first NSSA Kansas Award in 1975; his last came in 2009. He is a finalist for the Kansas Sportscaster of the Year Award […]

Read more

Hersh Latest To Accept Tribune Buyout

Philip Hersh wrote his last story for the Chicago Tribune today, becoming the latest sportswriter to accept a voluntary buyout from the Tribune Company. 

Read more

Daniel Murphy Named Hickok Belt® Award Winner for October 2015

ROCHESTER, NY – Daniel Murphy, second baseman for Major League Baseball’s New York Mets has been named the Hickok Belt® Award winner for the month of October 2015. Voting was conducted by a select panel of members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA). The voters selected Murphy based on his outstanding performance during […]

Read more

News14 Carolina Sports Director Connors Dies

Jim Connors, sports director for Time Warner Cable’s North Carolina news operation, died on Saturday after what his employer reported to be “a short and sudden illness.” He was 51 years old. Connors started his tv career in small markets, working his way from Billings, MT and Bluefield, WV, to New Bern and Winston-Salem, NC, […]

Read more

2015 NSSA Awards Finalists Announced

More than 200 sportscasters and sportswriters are featured on the final ballot for the 2015 National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association Awards. The Awards honor excellence in sports media and will be presented during the 57th Annual NSSA Awards Banquet, June 20, 2016, in Salisbury, NC. NSSA members will choose a Sportscaster and Sportswriter of the Year […]

Read more

Dufresne Takes LA Times Buyout

Chris Dufresne, 2012 NSSA California Sportswriter of the Year, announced on his Facebook page on Monday that his buyout offer from the Los Angeles Times was accepted. Dufresne wrote, “Well, my dream of being paid by the LA Times on June 17, 2016, will come true. That date will be the 40th anniversary of my […]

Read more