Tag Archives: features

NSSA, Catawba College Partner on Fundraising Campaign

The National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association and Catawba College, as part of their partnership formed by a Memorandum of Understanding in November 2014, have begun a fundraising campaign to raise money for three projects. NSSA executive director Dave Goren outlined the campaign in his speech at the 56th NSSA Awards Banquet on June 8th: “We’ve […]

Read more

More Than 500 Enjoy 56th NSSA Awards

More than 500 people participated in at least some of the 56th Annual NSSA Awards Weekend June 6-8. The Weekend culminated in the NSSA Awards Banquet on June 8th, during which Hal McCoy, Bill Raftery, the late Dick Schaap and Lesley Visser were inducted into the NSSA Hall of Fame. Tom Verducci was honored as […]

Read more

Video: NSSA’s Legacy Night Panel

Legacy Night panel discussion, honoring Roone Arledge & Stuart Scott. Moderator: Mike Hogewood (Fox Sports South/Raycom). Panelists: Pete Weber (Nashville Predators), Jay Harris (ESPN), Deedee Mills, Jeff Gravley (WRAL-TV), Ryan McGee (ESPN). Recorded at Hendrick Motorsports Team Center, June 6, 2015

Hendrick Motorsports Hosts NSSA’s Legacy Night on Saturday

Eleven-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champions Hendrick Motorsports will partner with the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA); by hosting an event at the team’s Concord, NC facility on Saturday, June 6. Legacy Night, includes a welcome dinner for the 56th Annual NSSA Awards Weekend, followed by a panel discussion to honor the contributions to […]

Read more

Hunter, Hill, Jr. Wins 2014-15 Gaines Awards

SALISBURY, NC (April 13, 2015) – Ron Hunter of the Georgia State University and James Hill, Jr. of Virginia State University have been named the winners of the fifth annual Clarence ‘Big House’ Gaines College Basketball Coach of the Year Awards. The Awards are presented to the top under-recognized college basketball coach in NCAA Division […]

Read more

June 3 Deadline To Register for the 56th NSSA Awards Weekend

June 3rd is the last day to register for the 56th Annual NSSA Awards Weekend. Click on the REGISTER HERE link below.   REGISTER HERE 2015 NSSA AWARDS WEEKEND SCHEDULE   SATURDAY, JUNE 6th Rolling shuttle pickups at CLT Airport Noon-9pm – Registration, Courtyard Marriott, Salisbury 3:30-5:30pm – Welcome Reception, Courtyard Marriott, Salisbury, NC 7:30-10:30pm –  Legacy Night, […]

Read more